Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Yes. The Department periodically offers Rape Assault and Defense (RAD) training for women and children For more information, contact Captain Mike Caron at 603-434-5577.
Show All Answers
Not generally. In keeping with the latest technology, the Department has moved to offering free DNA kits for child identification. Contact Chief Lewis at 603-434-5577 for further information.
No, generally registration of firearms is not required in New Hampshire. Gun owners should, however, document what the make, model, and serial numbers are of the firearms that they do own. Gun owners should also photograph their firearms as part of their documentation.
Per state law (NH RSA’s 207:3-a, 207:3-c, and 644:13), you may not shoot across or within 15 feet of a road, or “within 300 feet of a permanently occupied dwelling without permission of the owner or the occupant of the dwelling or from the owner of the land on which the person discharging the firearm or shooting the bow and arrow is situated.” You also may not discharge a firearm within the “compact part of a town or city,” defined as “the territory within a town or city comprised of the following: (a) Any nonresidential, commercial building, including, but not limited to, industrial, educational, or medical buildings, plus a perimeter 300 feet wide around all such buildings without permission of the owner. (b) Any park, playground, or other outdoor public gathering place designated by the legislative body of the city or town. (c) Any contiguous area containing 6 or more buildings which are used as either part- time or permanent dwellings and the spaces between them where each such building is within 300 feet of at least one of the others, plus a perimeter 300 feet wide around all the buildings in such area.”
For complete and up-to-date information regarding New Hampshire State Fish and Game Rules Click here
No. However, we do provide a document that allows you to list your emergency contacts, whether there are lights on in the house, etc. This will ensure that we have the proper information if we do need to respond to your residence. The form for a vacation patrol check can be found in the lobby of the Police Department or under the resources tab of our web page.
Please allow at least two weeks for report completion, approval, and preparation. Please call the the Windham Police and request to speak to the Records Department to request a copy of a report. There is a $6.00 fee for each report.
As of February 22, 2017 the State of New Hampshire no longer requires a pistol permit to carry, whether openly or concealed, loaded or unloaded, any pistol or revolver by a resident or non-resident of the state providing that such individual is not otherwise prohibited by statute from possessing a firearm in the state (see RSA 159:6 / Senate Bill 12). While not required, pistol permits are still issued for those individuals who may want such (usually desired for purposes of reciprocity with another state). Applications are available in the lobby of the Police Department or under the resources tab of our web page. Once completed, you may submit your application in-hand to the Dispatcher or by mail to the Police Department address. Please be aware that the 14-day processing period begins upon receipt of the completed application. Applicants approved and issued a license will be contacted by telephone (or by mail if a phone number is not provided). Applicants who are denied a license will be advised of such by mail. There is a $10.00 fee due at the time of pick up. The license is good for five (5) years, expiring on your birthday.
The Town of Windham employs a Community Service Officer (CSO) who is responsible for animal control services. This is a full-time position that functions as part of the Police Department. The CSO can be reached through the Police Department Communications Center at 603-434-5577. Wild animal complaints can be directed to U.S.D.A Wildlife Services at 603-223-6832 or by contacting the NH Fish and Game Department dispatch line, Monday through Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm, at 603-271-3361.
Yes. Per town ordinance number Win 2:02:16:83, residents are required to notify the Windham Police Department once they have an alarm installed in their home. There is a form located in the lobby and available under the resources tab of our web page. The form provides us with information about your home, the types of alarms installed, and emergency contact information.
The Police Department is open to conduct business from 8AM to 4PM Monday through Friday. Business matters include: Records Requests, Permit Applications, and to Speak with Administration.
If you need to report a crime, the department is open 24 hours a day 7 Days a week.
If you are reporting an emergency, CALL 911.